Faculty member in the Department of Pediatrics receives the Hippocratic Award

Not since 1984! That was the last time a faculty member in the Department of Pediatrics received the Hippocratic Award.

This honor is given by the graduating medical school seniors to the faculty member whom they feel has been the most outstanding teacher, mentor, and role model for them as they prepared for careers in medicine. Without a doubt it is the most prestigious award given to faculty within our medical school.

Today Dr. Maureen Novak is the 5th member of the Department to achieve this distinction in its 42 year history. Others pediatric awardees include Dr. Melvin Greer, Dr. Gerold L. Schiebler, Dr. Franklin L. DeBusk and Dr. Elia M. Ayoub.

I do not believe there is a more deserving individual than Maureen! Join me in congratulating Dr. Maureen Novak, the Hippocratic Award winner presented by the University of Florida College of Medicine Class of 2011!

Richard Bucciarelli

Professor and Chair, Department of Pediatrics

To find out more about Dr. Novak and the Hippocratic award, read the article “Someone to look up to” from the UF College of Medicine News.