May Department Highlights

Congratulations to the following department members on their achievements!


UF Research Foundation:

Arun Srivastava, Ph.D., was chosen as a University of Florida Research Foundation Professor for 2013. The University of Florida Research Foundation, Inc. promotes, encourages and provides assistance to the research activities of university faculty, staff and students. The organization provides a means by which research can be conducted flexibly and efficiently and by which discoveries, inventions, processes and work products of University of Florida faculty, staff and students can be transferred from the laboratory to the public. Funds generated by licensing such discoveries are used to enhance research at the University of Florida.

David A. Paulus Award for Clinical Excellence:

Nicole Black, M.D., received the new David A. Paulus Award for Clinical Excellence in its inaugural year, along with Michael Waters, M.D., Ph.D. The Paulus Award will be given annually to a member of the faculty of the College of Medicine who best demonstrates the ideals of clinical excellence manifested by Dr. David Paulus’ legacy of making a difference for patient care.  His high standards included an unfailing moral compass, engagement at every level of patient care and championing teamwork. Dr. Paulus lived and taught these ideals throughout his career.

Hyundai Hope on Wheels Grant:

Lamis Eldjerou, M.D., won a Hyundai Hope on Wheels grant. This year the organization will award at least 40 Hope Grants of $250,000 each for a total of $10 million in support. The grants, which will fund childhood research projects designed to improve the treatment and quality of life for children with cancer, will be distributed at Hope On Wheels Handprint Ceremony during the month of September.

Bayer Hemophilia Awards Program

David Markusic, Ph.D., received an award from The Bayer Hemophilia Awards Program, which supports basic and clinical research and education in hemophilia. The program seeks to support steps for the next generation of care and treatment options for people with hemophilia worldwide.

Children’s Miracle Network


CMN Awards were given to support pilot studies, provide bridge funding for research studies and to support the discovery effort by our faculty.

Discovery Funding

  • Erik Black, Ph.D.
  • Thianchai Bunnalai, M.D.
  • Alexandra Milloff Butler, M.D.
  • Carolyn Carter, M.D.
  • Satyanarayan Hegde, M.B.B.S., M.D., M.R.C.P.C.H.
  • Bahareh Keith, D.O.
  • Maria Kelly, M.D.
  • John Nackashi, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Krestin Jo Radonovich, Ph.D.
  • Sarah Ritchie, M.D.
  • Stephanie Ryan, M.D.
  • Sukesh Sukumaran, M.D.
  • Sharda Udassi, M.D.
  • Vini Vijayan, M.D.
  • Deborah Weyer, M.D.
  • Charles Williams, M.D.
  • Molly Posa, M.D.
  • Mori Stern, M.D.

Pilot or Research Grant  Funding

  • Georgiy Aslanidi, Ph.D.
  • Daniel Driscoll, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Debra Esernio-Jenssen, M.D.
  • Jacqueline Hobbs, M.D.
  • Brad Hoffman, Ph.D.
  • Chen Ling, Ph.D.
  • David Markusic, Ph.D.
  • Seh-Hoon Oh, Ph.D.
  • Liya Pi, Ph.D.
  • Jennifer Miller, M.D.
  • Arun Srivastava, Ph.D.
  • Sergei Zolotukhin, Ph.D.

Scholars – A New Award: 

This year also marks the inauguration of CMN Scholar Awards to individuals who have demonstrated academic excellence and research productivity, and have made seminal contributions to the field of biomedical research.

Roland Herzog, Ph.D. and Arun Srivastava, Ph.D. we recognized as our first CMN Scholars! They are internationally recognized scientists and each has been the recipient of a long-standing NIH award.

They both have also been on the leading edge of research that is already benefiting the lives of children.

As CMN Scholars, Drs. Herzog and Srivastava will receive CMN support to enhance their  research programs.