July Department Highlights

Edgard Andrade, MD, Selected as 2014 Best of Gainesville Awards – Neurologist

Andrade, Dr. Edgard

Edgard Andrade, MD has been selected for the 2014 Best of Gainesville Award in the Neurologist category by the Gainesville Award Program.

Each year, the Gainesville Award Program identifies companies and individuals that have achieved exceptional success in their local community and business category. These nominees help make the Gainesville community a great place to live, work and play.

Various sources of information were gathered and analyzed to choose the winners in each category. The 2014 Gainesville Award Program focuses on quality, not quantity. Winners are determined based on the information gathered both internally by the Gainesville Award Program and data provided by third parties.

New UF Pediatric Rheumatology Fellowship Program Receives Initial ACGME Accreditation

Melissa Elder

Physicians who want to specialize in childhood rheumatology now have a place to receive the advanced training they need. The University of Florida College of Medicine has launched a fellowship program in pediatric rheumatology.

It is the only of its kind in Florida, and one of just 35 nationally.

The program’s initial accreditation from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, the national body that certifies post-medical school education in the U.S., became effective July 1.

Applications are being accepted through October for the inaugural class of the three-year program, which will start July 2015. The program features two tracks, clinical and research, and is open to physicians who have already completed a general pediatrics residency program. One trainee will be accepted each year.

It is estimated that there are approximately 300,000 children with rheumatic conditions in the U.S., but only 229 pediatric rheumatologists.

UF Health ECMO Program Named Center of Excellence Again

Jim Beau Reinhardt recieves a check up from University of Florida pediatric surgeon David W. Kays, M.D.

The UF Health extracorporeal membrane oxygenation, or ECMO, program has been awarded the ELSO Award for Excellence in Life Support for the second consecutive time. The three-year award evaluates many facets of the  ECMO program including treatment standards, educational efforts, corrective processes and on-going quality initiatives.

Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation involves pumping a person’s blood out of the body, through an artificial lung that fills it with the right amount of oxygen and returns is back to the body.

The award, given by the Extracorporeal Life Support Organization, or ELSO, designates UF Health as an Extracorporeal Life Support Center of Excellence and “signifies to patients and families a commitment to exceptional patient care.”

Diabetes Institute T1D Researchers Named Among Top 10 Experts


Mark Atkinson, PhD, and Desmond Schatz, M.D., directors of the UF Health Diabetes Institute, were both recognized among the Top 10  leading global authorities in the field of Type 1 diabetes, according to Expertscape’s rankings of the “World’s Top Doctors and Hospitals in Type 1 Diabetes” released earlier this month. The healthcare information website examined hundreds of institutions and thousands of specialists worldwide to develop the rankings. The UF researchers are the only individuals listed in the Top 10 from the same institution, and the #1 and #4 leading experts across the Eastern United States.

Read the entire article by theUF Health Diabetes Institute.

Five Grants Awarded

Congratulations to the following investigators on their accomplishments!

  • Paulette Robinson, PhD:  NIH F32 grant “Role of microRNAs in Oval Cell-Aided Liver Regeneration”
  • Darin Falk, PhD:NIH K01 grant “Pathogenesis of the Neuromuscular Synapse in Pompe Disease”
  • Darin Falk, PhD: CTSI grant “Plasticity of the peripheral nerve and neuromuscular junction following gene therapy in Pompe disease”
  • A. Gary Todd, PhD: CTSI grant “Developing AAV9 for treatment of cardiomyopathy and respiratory insufficiency in Pompe disease”
  • Phillip Doerfler, PhD: CTSI grant “Molecular approaches to induce immune tolerance and phenotypic correction for Pompe Disease”